Downloads

The Downloads screen displays a list of folders that contain your downloaded websites.

DownloadsScreen

You can use these folders to organize your downloaded websites. For example, you can keep related sites in their own folders or, for sites that change over time, you can download the same site periodically into different folders.

There is always one folder in the list that is the destination folder (DestinationFolder), which is where downloaded items are saved.

If you tap the Edit button in the Downloads screen, SiteSucker displays a toolbar with the following buttons:

Delete Delete

Deletes the selected folders and everything they contain. The " SiteSucker" folder, however, cannot be deleted.

Edit Edit

Allows you to rename the selected folder. The " SiteSucker" folder, however, cannot be renamed.

Add Add

Allows you to create a new folder.


Viewing Downloaded Websites

If you tap on a folder in the Downloads screen, SiteSucker displays a list of the downloaded websites that are in that folder. These sites can be displayed as thumbnails or as folders.

If you tap on the Thumbnails button, SiteSucker displays the list of downloaded sites as thumbnails. SiteSucker generates the thumbnail of the first page displayed, and the path for that page relative to the enclosing folder is also shown. If you tap on a thumbnail in the list, SiteSucker displays the corresponding site in a browser. (See Browser below for more information.) The default bookmark for the site or the last page visited determines which page is displayed first.

DestinationThumbnails

If you tap on the Folders button, SiteSucker displays the list of downloaded sites as folders. If you tap on a folder in the list, SiteSucker displays the corresponding site in a browser. Folders that do not contain any bookmarks are disabled and cannot be selected.

DestinationFolders

The list may also include the "SiteSucker.log" file. Tap on this item to display errors, warnings, or other information that was logged by SiteSucker.

If you tap the Edit button in this screen, SiteSucker displays a toolbar with the following buttons:

Delete Delete

Deletes the selected items or all items if nothing is selected.

Organize Organize

Copies or moves the selected items or all items if nothing is selected. When you tap this button, a list of folders is displayed. Select the folder where you want the items to appear and then tap the Copy or Move button.

Share Share

Exports the selected items or all items if nothing is selected. See Transferring Files for more information.

Add Add

Imports items from iCloud Drive, Dropbox, iTunes File Sharing (macOS 10.14), or the Finder (macOS 10.15). See Transferring Files for more information.


Inside Website Folders

If you touch and hold the folder for any site in the list (enabled or disabled), the contents of that folder are displayed.

FolderViewScreen

This screen allows you to do the following:

  • To display the contents of a folder, tap on it.
  • To display a file in a browser, tap on it.
  • To display a file in a Quick Look preview, touch and hold it. (This feature does not work with HTML or files that cannot be previewed.)
  • To search the contents of the displayed folder and its subfolders, enter text in the search bar.
  • To delete items, tap the Edit button, select the items, and tap Delete in the toolbar.
  • To share items, tap the Edit button, select the items, and tap Share in the toolbar.

Browser

The browser displays your downloaded files.

FileBrowser.png

If a document icon is shown in the navigation bar, the file is stored locally. If you tap on the icon, the file's SiteSucker URL is displayed. If a globe icon is shown, the file is on the Internet. If you tap on the icon, the file's Web URL is displayed, along with an Open in Safari button.

You can use the Browser Font Size control in the Preferences to adjust the size of the font in the browser.

The buttons in the browser toolbar provide browser navigation, file sharing, access to bookmarks, and the ability to display the browser in full-screen mode.

Back Back

Sends the browser back one page. You can also go back by dragging the left edge of the page to the right.

Forward Forward

Sends the browser forward one page. You can also go forward by dragging the right edge of the page to the left.

Share Share

This button allows you to do the following:

  • Share a downloaded file with other apps, print a file, save an image, etc.
  • Bookmark a downloaded file. (See Bookmarks below for details.)
Bookmarks Bookmarks

Lists bookmarks for this site. Tap a bookmark to display the associated page.

SiteSucker automatically bookmarks the first file it downloads for a site, and this file is the first one shown when a site's folder or thumbnail is selected in the Downloads screen. You can have SiteSucker start from a different file by creating a bookmark for that file and making it the default (or first) bookmark. However, if the Return to Last Page Visited option is on in the Preferences, the last page visited is always the first one shown.

EnterFullScreen Enter Full Screen

Enters full-screen mode by hiding the status bar (where appropriate), navigation bar, and toolbar. Swipe down to show the toolbar; swipe up to hide the toolbar again.

ExitFullScreen Exit Full Screen

Exits full-screen mode by displaying the status bar, navigation bar, and toolbar.